Menu Home

EU Catchup: June 7, 2022 – Non-EU countries follow EU lead on South Sudan

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in South Sudan

On 16 May 2022, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2022/7551 amending Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/740.

The Council Decision updates the list of persons subject to restrictive measures as set out in Annex II to Decision (CFSP) 2015/740 by updating the entry of one listed person.

The Candidate Countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania2, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Republic of Moldova align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.


EU Press Release

Categories: EU Updates South Sudan sanctions


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: