Menu Home

EU boots another 19 Russian diplomats

Russia: The European Union declared 19 diplomats personae non-gratae



 EEAS Press Team

Based on the decision by High Representative Josep Borrell, 19 members of the Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the EU in Brussels have been declared personae non-gratae for engaging in activities contrary to their diplomatic status.

The European Union is acting in response to the illegal and disruptive actions by designated members of the Russian Mission against the interests and security of the EU and its Members States. These actions have been in breach of the 1961 Vienna Convention on Diplomatic relations.

By virtue of Article 16 of Protocol 7 of the Treaty, the privileges and immunities of the Russian citizens concerned will be revoked and they will be required to leave the Belgian territory.

The Secretary General of the European External Action Service Stefano Sanninohas summoned the Ambassador of the Russian Federation to the European Union, Vladimir Chizhov, in the afternoon to inform him about this decision.

The decision comes at the time of mounting reports about atrocities committed by Russia’s armed forces in a number of occupied Ukrainian towns that have now been liberated, notably Bucha. The European Union stands in full solidarity with Ukraine and the Ukrainian people and will continue to provide all possible support, in coordination with international partners.


EU Press Release

Categories: Diplomatic Staff Restrictions EU Updates Russia sanctions


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: