Menu Home

UK sanctions entire (?) Russian Duma…

Technically, some members were already sanctioned, and only those who voted Yes on law are sanctioned – but you know there weren’t a lot of No votes (according to Tass, the votes were unanimous). Not going to cut and paste it here – it’s a 132-page PDF, as you might imagine. Why is it so large? Well, here’s just one listing:

Name (non-Latin script): Хизри Магомедович Абакаров
DOB: 28/06/1960. POB: Yuzhno Sakhalinsk , Russia Nationality: Russia Address: 1 Okhotny Ryad str, Russia, 103265.Position: Member of the State Duma of the Russian Federation Other Information: (UK Sanctions List Ref):RUS0296 (UK Statement of Reasons):Member of the State Duma of Russia who voted in favour of Federal Law No. 75577-8 “On the ratification of the Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance between the Russian Federation and the Luhansk People's Republic” and/or Federal Law No. 75578-8 “On the ratification of the Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance between the Russian Federation and the Donetsk People's Republic”. In so doing, the member endorsed President Putin’s decision to recognise the Donetsk People’s Republic and the Luhansk People’s Republic as independent states, thereby providing support for policies and/or actions which destabilise Ukraine and/or undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty or independence of Ukraine. (Gender):Male Listed on: 11/03/2022 UK Sanctions List Date Designated: 11/03/2022 Last Updated: 11/03/2022 Group ID: 14241.

But here’s Foreign Secretary Elizabeth Truss’ statement on the action:

Press release

Foreign Secretary sanctions 386 Russian lawmakers who supported Putin’s invasion of Ukraine

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss has sanctioned 386 members of the Duma for their support for the Ukrainian breakaway regions of Luhansk and Donetsk.From:Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Officeand The Rt Hon Elizabeth Truss MPPublished11 March 2022

Russian lawmakers sanctioned
  • 386 members of the Russian Duma designated during latest round of UK sanctions
  • Government places ban on travel and assets in the UK for those who voted for independence of Luhansk and Donetsk regions

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss has today (Friday 11 March) sanctioned 386 members of the Duma, the lower house of the Russian parliament, for their support for the Ukrainian breakaway regions of Luhansk and Donetsk. The new sanctions will ban those listed from travelling to the UK, accessing assets held within the UK and doing business here.

The Russian State Duma ratified treaties in February which recognised the independence of the Luhansk and Donetsk regions – part of Ukrainian sovereign territory – and authorised the permanent presence of Russian military there, acting as a pretext for Russia’s invasion.

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said:

We’re targeting those complicit in Putin’s illegal invasion of Ukraine and those who support this barbaric war. We will not let up the pressure and will continue to tighten the screw on the Russian economy through sanctions.

Together with our allies, we stand firmly beside our Ukrainian friends. We will continue to support Ukraine with humanitarian aid, defensive weapons and diplomatic work to isolate Russia internationally.

The designations announced today build on yesterday’s crack down on key oligarchs from Putin’s inner circle, and the introduction of new UK powers to detain Russian aircraft and ban the export of aviation items.

Since Russia’s invasion, the UK has sanctioned more than 500 of Russia’s most significant and high-value individuals, entities and subsidiaries, bringing the total now covered by the UK’s sanctions list to over 800. This includes travel bans and asset freezes applied to 18 of Russia’s leading oligarchs, with a combined worth in excess of £30 billion.


This brings the total number of Duma members sanctioned by the UK to 400.

On 9 March, the Foreign Secretary announced new powers to detain Russian aircraft in the UK and remove aircraft belonging to designated individuals and entities from the UK register. Additional measures banned the export of aviation and space-related goods and technology, including technical assistance and prevented UK companies providing insurance and re-insurance services in relation to these goods and technology.

The Government’s amendments to the Economic Crime (Transparency and Enforcement) Bill will aim to crack down on corrupt elites and ramp up pressure on Putin’s regime.

Media enquiries


Telephone 020 7008 3100

Contact the FCDO Communication Team via email (monitored 24 hours a day) in the first instance, and we will respond as soon as possible.


OFSI Notice

FCDO Statement

Tass story on law ratifications

Categories: FCDO updates Foreign Secretary statements OFSI Updates Russia sanctions Sanctions Lists


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: