Menu Home

February 22, 2021: OFAC adds 2 to Burma sanctions

Yesterday, OFAC added the following people:

KYAW, Maung Maung, Burma; DOB 23 Jul 1964; nationality Burma; Gender Male; National ID No. 12/BAHANA(N)010023 (Burma) (individual) [BURMA-EO14014]. 
TUN, Moe Myint, Burma; DOB 24 May 1968; nationality Burma; Gender Male; National ID No. 7/KATAKHA(N)007836 (Burma) (individual) [BURMA-EO14014]. 

to the SDN List under its new Burma sanctions program.

And the Treasury Department issued the following press release:

U.S. Department of the Treasury 

Office of Public Affairs



Press Release:            FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

                                    February 22, 2021 


Contact:                     Alexandra LaManna,                  


United States Targets Members of Burma’s State Administrative Council following Violence against Protestors


WASHINGTON – Today, the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) sanctioned two individuals connected to the military apparatus responsible for the coup in Burma. Treasury took these actions in response to the Burmese security forces’ killing of peaceful protestors, and Treasury imposed the sanctions under Executive Order 14014, the new Burma-focused sanctions authority President Biden issued on February 11. The Treasury Department stands with the people of Burma as they work to secure freedom and democracy and remains committed to promoting accountability for those responsible for the coup and ongoing violence. The military must reverse its actions and urgently restore the democratically elected government in Burma, or the Treasury Department will not hesitate to take further action.


The United States will continue to work with partners throughout the region and the world to press the Burmese military and police to cease all violence against peaceful protestors, to support the restoration of democracy and the rule of law in Burma, to urge for the immediate release of political prisoners, including State Counselor Aung San Suu Kyi and President Win Myint, and to promote accountability for those responsible for attempting to reverse Burma’s progress toward democracy. 


Today’s action builds upon the February 11, 2021 Treasury sanctions that targeted 10 current or former military officials as well as three Burmese entities, which are wholly owned subsidiaries of a large conglomerate in Burma. Following the February 1 coup, on February 2, the Burmese military announced that Lieutenant General Moe Myint Tun and General Maung Maung Kyaw would be members of the State Administration Council. 


Moe Myint Tun and Maung Maung Kyaw are designated pursuant to E.O. 14014, “Blocking Property With Respect to the Situation in Burma,” for being foreign persons who are or were leaders or officials of the military or security forces of Burma.




As a result of today’s action, all property and interests in property of the individuals named above, and of any entities that are owned, directly or indirectly, 50 percent or more by them, individually, or with other blocked persons, that are in the United States or in the possession or control of U.S. persons, are blocked and must be reported to OFAC. Unless authorized by a general or specific license issued by OFAC or otherwise exempt, OFAC’s regulations generally prohibit all transactions by U.S. persons or within (or transiting) the United States that involve any property or interests in property of designated or otherwise blocked persons.

And the State Department, too:

The United States stands in solidarity with the people of Burma who came out across the country with courage and determination today to reject the military coup and voice their aspirations for a return to democratic governance, peace, and rule of law.  We condemn the security forces’ brutal attacks on unarmed protesters, which resulted in four deaths and injured over 40 individuals.  We also condemn the ongoing arrests and detentions of hundreds of politicians, human rights defenders, and peaceful protestors.  The United States, in close coordination with our partners and allies, has underscored to the military that violence against the people is unacceptable.
Today, the United States is responding by designating two additional State Administrative Council (SAC) members, Maung Maung Kyaw and Moe Myint Tun.  These designations were made pursuant to Section 1(a)(iii)(A) of Executive Order (E.O.) 14014, “Blocking Property With Respect to the Situation in Burma.”
We call on the military and police to cease all attacks on peaceful protesters, immediately release all those unjustly detained, stop attacks on and intimidation of journalists and activists, and restore the democratically elected government.  The United States will continue to work with a broad coalition of international partners to promote accountability for coup leaders and those responsible for this violence.  We will not hesitate to take further action against those who perpetrate violence and suppress the will of the people.  We will not waver in our support for the people of Burma.


OFAC Notice

Treasury Press Release

State Department Press Releasse

Categories: Burma Sanctions OFAC Updates Sanctions Lists


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: